Curriculum Overview

The Ikari Dōjō curriculum follows the Bujinkan Touitsuteki Kihon Katei and is split into three main components, basic training, intermediate training and advanced training. Each level of training builds a foundation for the next level of training and ensures that the student is capable of performing all techniques and has an understanding core concepts.

Basic to advanced training is made up of modules called shoden, chuden and じjouden (初伝、中伝、上伝). Each shoden module teaches foundational techniques and methods, chuden is intermediate training and jouden is the highest level of training. There are many modules and each module represents approximately 54 training hours. Mastering any module counts toward a Kyū (junior) grading to the next level. Students who start training at Ikari Dōjō begin as Mukyū (無級) [White Belt] and work their way up to 1st Kyū (一級) [Green belt]. Each Kyū represents a certain amount of training a student has achieved and the dedication to the dojo and organisation. Each Kyū grade represents approximately 3 months worth of training and new students are expected to reach 1st Dan in approximately 3 years. At Ikari Dojo, it is a requirement to travel to Japan to acquire shodan or a black belt. 

The curriculum is made up of methods called jutsu (術), for example shurikenjutsu (手裏剣術) is a collection of methods of using hidden hand blades. Within a jutsu (術) are kata (型), jutsu (術), waza (技) and kamae (構) [Note: Japanese does not have plural suffixes for words. In the example of jutsu (術) and jutsu (術), kenjutsu (剣術) means a sword methods while shōten no jutsu (昇天の術) means technique of climbing/ascending. The の character here denotes the singular 'method'.

Waza (技) are simple techniques with set movements. A throw for example would be a waza. Jutsu (術) are a method with multiple movements or parts, waza (技) make up jutsu (術). Deflecting a sword cut would be a (の) jutsu (術). Kata (型) are a set of jutsu (術). Koku no kata (虚空の型), a series of techniques which involve striking, kicking and throwing is a kata (型). Kamae (構) are different postures of the body. Each level of the curriculum may contain waza, jutsu, kata and kamae. 

The current list of modules available at Ikari Dojo are as follows:

Taihenjutsu Shoden (Body change foundational transmission)
Shinhenjutsu Shoden (Mind change foundational transmission)
Kihenjutsu Shoden (Spirit change foundational transmission)
Kosshijutsu Shoden (Muscle striking foundational transmission)
Koppojutsu Shoden (Bone striking foundational transmission)
Nintaijutsu Shoden (Chicanery body methods foundational transmission)
Tantojutsu Shoden (Dagger foundational transmission) 
Shotojutsu Shoden (Short sword foundational transmission)
Daitojutsu Shoden (Long sword foundational transmission)
Shurikenjutsu Shoden (Hidden hand blade foundational transmission)
Boshurikenjutsu Shoden (Dart foundational transmission)
Teppan Shoden (Metal plate foundational transmission)
Kunaijutsu Shoden (Trowel foundational transmission)
Shuko/Ashikojutsu Shoden (Hand and foot claws foundational transmission)
Kyoketsushogejutsu Shoden (Dagger and rope foundational transmission)

New modules are added every year.

Bujinkan Touitsuteki Kihon Katei - 武神館統一的基本課程

The Bujinkan Touitsuteki Kihon Katei (武神館統一的基本課程) is a general curriculum made up of multiple modules to prepare Bujinkan students for the practice of the nine schools. The TKK contains foundation basics for the three general aspects of the Bujinkan, taijutsu, jujutsu and ninjutsu. It also prepares students with specialist modules for further training in preparation for the denshou (scrolls) of the nine schools.